Posted by: denniemj | August 16, 2012

My second year of sobriety

I had my last drink of alcohol on August 17, 2011. Tomorrow I will be one year sober. This is not the first time.

I first stopped drinking in July of 2008. I didn’t really want to be sober. I was resentful of my alcoholic husband who continued drinking. I was unhappy in my marriage. I wanted out. I was hopeless and depressed. On my one year anniversary I attempted suicide. I was dry, but I was far from sober. What a difference this last year!

During this second year of sobriety I have wanted to stay sober. I want to recover. I have had moments of absolute joy. I have had moments of great pain. I have come to understand the concept of “This too shall pass”.

If I feel that urge to drink coming up, as it does from time to time, I talk about it. I call my sponsor. I get to a meeting. I get down on my knees. I act as if my life depends upon it, because it does. As long as I don’t drink, I will eventually create the life I want for myself. To drink is to slip back into depression and I don’t know that I have what it takes to recover from those depths again.

God willing, at this time next year I will be celebrating two years of continous sobriety and happy recovery.

Responses

  1. […] My second year of sobriety […]

  2. […] My second year of sobriety (recoveryramblings.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Art is a Whore

Making and selling art

Defining my self as I recover from alcoholism and more!

Recovery Works

Addiction Kills but YOU Don't Have to Die Because of It

Efficiencymadesimple's Blog

Tips for working smarter to create more balance in our lives.

Aboriginal Circle's Blog

Blogging thoughts in the Circle

Idle No More

Defining my self as I recover from alcoholism and more!

The Oz Blog

Defining my self as I recover from alcoholism and more!

Take12Radio's Blog

Our Recovery Radio Updates

One bite at a time

Recovering from ed

Jamie Todd Rubin

Defining my self as I recover from alcoholism and more!

Recovering Angel

Sober since 2010...now what?

Positive Adaptation

Defining my self as I recover from alcoholism and more!

Anorexics and Bulimics Anonymous (ABA)

Defining my self as I recover from alcoholism and more!

Basic Organization

Organize Everything - Simplify Life

Doublewinners

Alcoholism: It truly is a family disease

Recovery Blog with NSG

a philosophy of recovery and spirituality

365 Days to Reclaim My Mind

Reduce, Reuse and Recycle to clear my mind

being fifty-something

the good, the bad and the brilliant

Midlife Moments

Leaning in to a Magical, Mystical and Miraculous Time

Debt of Gratitude

Daily meditations of a mindful mother

